Festival of the Arts

Coral Springs is celebrating its 50th birthday and this weekend’s Festival is one of the signature community events. Being only a couple blocks away, my neighbor and I sauntered over to the many tents filled with artwork, craftwork, and the occasional food indulgence. I liked the upscale woven sun visors; she liked the miniature tulle covered fairies on moss beds. I liked the vibrant photography of Venice, she liked the colorful metallic lawn ornaments. We both liked the leather purses. As we strolled, she told me about her job as a teenage model and that her dad, who was a cop, didn’t like that at all. She mentioned her 27 year marriage which busted when they moved from Massachusetts to Florida, and her four children and many more grandchildren…two of whom are graduating from high school this year. She loves animals and noticed every well-behaved dog, even the ones in their netted pet strollers. Her allergies and copd/emphysema restrict most foods and the walking became more difficult in the afternoon heat. Although I couldn’t share my mango pineapple jamba juice smoothie with her, I am glad we shared time together. She’s moving at the end of the month but I will always think of her when I see miniature tulle covered fairies on moss covered beds..
(u) x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

