Health Insurance 101

I know the process of obtaining international health insurance has been “complexicated” by my need to evaluate over 20 companies and dot the i’s of their brochures and coverage options.  The healthcare market outside of the US is vastly different and for visa purposes, I need to enroll in a plan that’s comparable to the Securite Sociale in France even though I’m not eligible for any of those benefits.  I also need to prove coverage exists even though I haven’t left yet and there are timing issues for all of it.  And since expatriates are not currently entitled to Medicare (attempts are being made to change that), I need a plan that does not cut me off once I reach a certain age, typically 75.  I think I made progress today by completing an application for worldwide coverage from IMG, underwritten by Sirius.  With a $2,500 deductible, my annual premium will be $1,540 if my application is accepted without exclusionary riders.  By US standards, that’s amazingly reasonable.  The plan even includes some complementary medicine services which are meaningful to my wellness desires and ususally not offered on US plans.  Medical evacuation and repatriation are covered (although I don’t willingly intend to use them yet!).  This has been an educational endeavor but nothing I want to major (medical) in!

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

