As the French Would Say…

…bon le quatorze juillet.  I will be celebrating Bastille Day with food-a fresh croissant au chocolat for breakfast, a honeyed roquefort salad for lunch, provencal sausage for dinner, and a decadent french pastry for dessert.  I might even splurge on some real champagne!

Someday soon I will learn more French history (sort of like reliving high school US history only there are a lot more centuries to cover!!!), including the stories surrounding the infamous Bastille prison.  I wish there was an actual building to explore…even if it was a small replica.  I think it would be easier to “feel” the squalor and oppression, rather than just read about it.  And the picture below shows a part of the Bastille’s foundation that was unearthed when digging for the Paris metro system.  I would have liked to see and touch that too.

I suppose the Eiffel Tower is the iconic symbol of France’s “Independence Day” sort of like the Statue of Liberty representing freedom in the US.  And, both of them look great with a fireworks background!

foundation bastille

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

