Paper

Some things are easy to throw away or recycle.  As I pack with the intention of taking only  “crucial” belongings, I toss clothes, cookware, linens, toiletries and office supplies with abandon. Then, I get stuck on paper.  I have half used spiral school notebooks, multicolored post-its, printed on one side computer paper, a variety of notepads, a very old, yellowed, and empty day planner, notebook dividers, and envelopes unmatched to cards.  It kills me to get rid of them!  I can’t even do it all at once…instead, I tear apart one notebook on each packing break and easily toss the spiral while lamenting the stuffing of my recycled paper bag.  What’s with this?  Is it the potential for writing that could be on the page?  Is it homage to the death of a tree?  Is it because half used notebooks aggregate exponentially each school year and it seems wasteful to buy back-to-school supplies just because they have a new fancy color on the cover?  I tried to give them away to the OfficeMax school supplies drive but they only wanted unused items.  Maybe I have a paper fetish.  You’ll know if I send you a hand written letter on the back of my grocery list!

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

