Elbow Grease

Nine hours ago I walked to my new apartment in the pre-sunrise darkness when everything is visible but nothing breathes a color.  One hour ago I walked back to my temporary place eager to eat and drink my first meal of the day and sit in a chair for the rest of the evening.  Eight hours of cleaning incorporated practically every yoga move I know and I think my right arm is going to fall off.  I still have to spic and span the entire kitchen and hallway, the window doors that open onto the balcony, and the balcony itself.  But the living room, bedroom, and bathroom are looking ready for move in day.

I loved watching the progression of the sun vicariously as the light shone through the open windows.  And when out of nowhere a downburst blew through, I looked for rainbows as I decided how far away rugs and furniture need to be to not get a sprinkling.  I am on the first floor (US second floor) of a building built in 1900 overlooking a very busy street.  The hum of traffic and movement of people from below makes me feel connected to life but I know that the double panes will mute everything if it ever sounds like noise.  Or when I’m talking with you on the phone!

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

