Consider It A Coup

Thanksgiving dinner with Democrats Abroad was a huge success.  Not only was there a 12 kg turkey (think lots of dark meat), there were at least five varieties of stuffing, mashed and sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, a variety of vegetable dishes, and several tempting desserts of which I sampled cheesecake and pecan pie.  Mmmm, Mmmm, good!  Many of these foods or ingredients are hard to find…like turkeys, cranberries, and any kind of prepackaged stuffing so this event takes quite a bit of improvisation.  And it was delicious.

The bigger story is that I joined Democrats Abroad.  And I figured out why.  In the US, a vote, my vote, anyone’s individual vote, just doesn’t seem to matter.  Current politicking and positioning occurs no matter who or what “wins” and the bickering stalemates are a huge turn-off.  But here and perhaps most places abroad, the expat “condition” coalesces around a couple of topics and most expats agree on the same direction…sometimes even the same outcome.  Each individual expat vote becomes more meaningful as we strive to receive fair and complete representation.  I’m not one in the crowd because expats are a crowd of one.  So, for the first time in my life, I will be electing people to government office.  And I care.

(u)   x(o)x

 

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

