Chestnuts Roasting by a Wood-Burning Fire

Picture coziness and warmth near a wood-burning stove with Rudie, the black Labrador house guest, napping on the rug and me, the white American house guest, curled up on the couch enjoying BBC Christmas specials with tea and Christmas cake.  Or picture a delightful kitchen with a pioneer type wood burning black stove which produced a delicious turkey dinner with an amazing sweet red cabbage erasing any longing for cranberry and a lofty and light pavlova which still allowed a large slice of chocolate buche de noel to be sampled later.  Or picture me, snuggled under my covers and gazing through the skylight as Christmas Eve became Christmas Day while listening to favorite carols on my iPod and being oh so roasted and toasty.  Even more than turkey and mistletoe, my visit to friends in the French countryside helped to make the season bright.

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

