Kung hei fat choy

Today begins the Chinese lunar year of the green wooden horse.  The horse signifies strength, speed, and nobility.  People born in the year of the horse may be energetic and fearless.  Additionally, there are lesser animal signs for each month (inner animals), day (true animals), and hour (secret animals).  Wood is one of the five universal elements along with fire, earth, metal, and water.  The elements help to define process or change and each element has both a generative and a destructive cycle.  Something like rock/paper/scissors, wood feeds fire, fire creates earth, earth bears metal, metal enriches water, and water nourishes wood (generative).  It is believed that 2014 will be a year of promise and prosperity compared to the preceding year of water.  There are many other factors in Chinese astrology including color (2014 is green), gender, and the interaction between all of the signs.  If you’d like to find your personal Chinese fortune, check out www.chinesefortunecalendar.com and enter your relevant dates.  For example, I am a red snake born in the year of the red rooster/chicken and equivalent to female fire.  A summary of my signs and what it means in 2014 is provided with my final summary stating “Friends, money, wisdom, and fame all come”.  I like it!  This is a year of great expectations.  May they bloom in your lotus garden and light the lanterns on your path.

ps. (The photos are from my celebration lunch at Wok Way, where they fill the dumplings and make the noodles on the spot.  I also took pictures of the main pedestrian shopping thoroughfare, rue St. Catherine.  And finally, I included some views for someone who does not have a very good fortune today!)

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

