Hello Blog

It’s been a long time. I’m happy to see you again.  I thought I would post immediately upon arriving home from Amsterdam and Lalandusse.  But I was whisked away from editing over 400 pictures to include in my travel journal.  And here I am today, no further on pictures, but accomplishing much, nonetheless.

Without any effort at all, I find myself “used to” the May holidays.  There are three of them…all on Thursdays this year…and just the right encouragement for all of France to take a four day weekend.  Shops are closed, traffic is light, and bars are open and spilling their customers out onto the sidewalk.  On Wednesdays, customer service after about noon is nonexistent because everyone is thinking about what to do during their four days off.  And Monday morning will be no better…in fact many places will open at least a 1/2 hour late.  The first holiday was May Day…French Labor Day…and any casual walker might be asked to join a demonstration or labor parade.  I like the other tradition of May Day much better…lilies of the valley to everyone in honor of love and friendship…begun by one of the kings (Charles perhaps?) who gave bouquets to all the maids of the court.  Today is WWII Victory Day and once again there are parades…this time of tanks and bands and tri-color flags.  WWII is a dangerous conversation topic in France (more about that in another post) but apparently if there’s a four day weekend attached, then it’s all good.  May 25th, quelle horreur on a Sunday, is the observance of Mother’s Day so my kids will have an excuse if they don’t send me an e-card on the 11th.  Ascension Day follows on Thursday the 29th…you know the drill…and that takes us into June.  But for the time being, let us toast to May!

(u)   x(o)x

 

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

