Le Tour de France

They go by in a blur and it’s all done in just a few minutes.  But the excitement builds for hours and it’s almost a letdown to realize it’s over.  I’m talking about Le Tour de France from an in person vantage point…for me in Monbazillac on stage 19, about ten kilometres away from the finish at Bergerac after a total rainy race day of just over 208 kilometres.  I’m not a raving mad fan (and believe me, there are some!) but I did learn more about Le Tour besides just the title and Lance Armstrong’s doped victories.  I now know what the jersey colors mean, the strategy of the peleton, and the criteria for winning.  And I know all about the “caravan”; the sponsor parade that rides through an hour or so before the cyclists and the loot that you can get if you’re willing to risk your life in the mélee!  Take a look!  (p.s. There’s no way to frame a picture when the cyclists pass so I just kept snapping with my phone camera…didn’t see my favorite person until the editing phase later that night…can you tell who I mean?)

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

