The IRS

Talk about French bureaucracy and red tape!  In January 2014, I sent two different envelopes with two different sets of forms (and one envelope also included a check) to two different IRS offices.  One was for 2013 taxes.  One was for 2014 estimated taxes.  The IRS messed it up and sent me a “2013 refund check” in the amount of my 2014 estimated taxes.  The IRS help desk decided I should return the US treasury check to them after writing VOID on the back along with a letter explaining the situation.  I did this in early June and asked for some sort of written confirmation back.  Last week, I called the IRS again because I hadn’t heard anything.  Apparently the envelope was handled on July 30 but the returned check was not credited back to my account.  I was instructed to call back in two weeks.  Yesterday, I received a letter from the IRS saying they received my communication and it will take up to six months to respond.  Really?  And by the way, I haven’t heard a word about my French visa or driver’s license.  In just a couple of days, I will be an illegal alien.

(u)   x(o)x

 

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

