Connect the Dots

They say (and don’t ask me who they are) that learning numbers in French is easy but thinking numbers in French is not easily assimilated.  Un, deux, trois…up to dix and a few beyond is within school children’s grasp but what about oven temps, climate facts, weights and measures, years and ages, etc.?  Could it be because the verbal equivalent for 70 is 60+10 (soixante-dix), 80 is 4*20 (quartre-vingts), and 90 is 4*20+10? (quatre-vingts-dix)?  Makes my head spin!  I try to see and say every number in French without doing a translation in my head and so far, it’s been impossible.  If I had to recite the numbers in a complicated connect the dots exercise, I would never know what the picture turned into!

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

