One Day At A Time

I have had so many adventures lately that they are running together in my mind.  So, taking one day at a time and working backwards, today was a photography expedition to a place I’ve wanted to explore in the nittier grittier part of town.  During WWII, when the Nazis occupied Bordeaux, they built a concrete submarine bunker using slave labor from Spain.    The bunker has not been destroyed…I’ve heard because it would be too difficult, and it has also not been modeled into a showpiece.  It’s raw and dark and a little spooky and a lot emotional as you gaze into the water and imagine what once was.  The very neat thing is they’ve turned some of the space into a fine arts venue and today was an exhibit of modernist, cubist photography.  I’d like to thank Olympus for this meaningful expedition.  A simple sign-up had me scheduled for this particular site to try out an Olympus camera.  They provided the camera, r/t transportation, free entrance, and the memory card for probably a couple hundred people going to various sites with various themes around Bordeaux today.  It was fabulous, well-organized, friendly, and I really liked their camera!

I’ve included a slide show of all of my pictures…perhaps it will give you a sense of being inside this chamber of horrors…

(u)   x(o)x  p.s. I made my first batch of Fantasy fudge today…mmmmmm

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

