This Year’s Headaches

My private health insurance expires August 25th so there is some urgency to finding out if I am eligible for the French healthcare system using a carte vitale. My application and documents were reviewed and found lacking. I’ve now hired an authorized translator to convert English to French for my 2013 tax return among other papers…150 euros and several days later I am ready to resubmit with my fingers crossed. The system is something like Medicare in that you buy top-up insurance and that will be an entirely different prospect if I reach round two.

My visa renewal dossier was deposited last Monday and I already have a temporary renewal covering me until January 2016. That’s incredibly efficient compared to last year. I submitted a formal request for a 10 year resident card, which possibly would come with the right to work. However, if I’ve translated correctly, the rules state you have to live in France for three years before that’s possible. The French like having rules so they can break them!

It’s now August and I’m eligible for a phone replacement. I think I’m still stuck with the major carrier (Orange) because of my poor French speaking skills. They offer English speaking help desk phone support and actual help desk kiosks throughout the city so the extra cost is still worth it to me. I have not been tremendously happy with my Samsung Galaxy 4 though and I don’t want an iPhone (not as popular in France as in the US) so I need to research mobile phones a bit. Any android suggestions?

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

