The Saga Ends

It’s not the news I’ve been waiting or hoping for. My french healthcare assessment is calculated correctly according to the rules, which in my case are detrimental but in other situations might be beneficial. It all hangs on the exchange rate used and that changed from .72 on December 31, 2013 to .92 on July 1, 2015, …a huge margin. There are elements of this entire saga that are frustrating and things I’ve done that I would like to undo. My mistakes will cost an extra $2,500 that I don’t have unless I get a rebate from my private health insurance policy. And I’ve changed from catastrophic coverage to 70% reimbursement, which only works if nothing serious happens to me. I’m trying to get to a “live and learn” attitude but I’m not there yet. The very long-term perspective is beneficial as I cannot receive Medicare benefits and my private policy premium would continue to increase through the roof as I get older. Instead, the french system should be free to me to the extent that I only receive government pension income. In the meantime, next year’s contribution should be less and maybe I can afford to get top-up insurance to cover the 30%…and then, I can go skydiving!

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

