Bridge

Yesterday was my second foray into the world of multinational women speaking French while playing bridge. Even the cards are different-aces are 1’s, kings are roi denoted by an R, queens are dame denoted by a D, and jacks are valet noted by a V. I sit on the sidelines gathering information and “playing” the hands to my left and right. I understand the concept of tricks and trump from my sheepshead days (thank you Wisconsin family!) but the bidding is complicated and there are so many rules! Thank heavens it’s a friendly affair and everyone shares their cards and logic after each hand. Next month, I will have my own spot at the table because I at least know you have to have 12 points to open and five cards in one suit unless you bid no trump (sans a tout). Then, there’s a 25% chance that my hand will be the dummy and I won’t have to make any decisions at all except which dessert to choose for tea! I think of my Grandma a lot when it comes to bridge and she would have served schaum tortes!

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

