HodgePodge by Godge

You probably have to be from Wisconsin to have this blog title easily roll off your tongue and not wonder, “what the heck?”

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I continue to live and love my life in Bordeaux because as the saying goes, “money makes the world go around”, and my financial picture took a huge turn for the better when my apartment caution (three year’s rent) was released from the bank. I’ve turned my space heater on when I’m cold (instead of shivering beneath the bedcovers); I’ve cooked real meals in my oven (including meat roasts that have been delicious); I’ve purchased replacements for worn out clothes during the January sales (there comes a time when underwear just has to go); I’ve started french classes (once a week for two hours on Friday afternoons when there are no school holidays and the social center isn’t closed); I’ve paid my ridiculous first year fee for french healthcare coverage (and now I’m trying to straighten out a tax bill…it just never ends); and there’s still quite a lot of € left over!

Which means I am planning travels: ??? for my April birthday but possibly San Sebastian, Spain which is reachable by train, Bordeaux sights and Paris with T in May and June, different Bordeaux sights and the artist’s triangle of Arles/Avignon/Aix-en-Provence with C in June, Rome and the Amalfi coast with A&V in October, Rome/Tuscany/Cinque Terre/Bologna/Venice with D in October, and the Strasbourg Christmas Market with J&M in mid-December. I wish TripAdvisor offered frequent internet user awards!

In between travel planning, watching Fudge, preparing the BWC newsletters, and nursing a sore toe which has made walking waaaaay less pleasurable…I’ve read some good books, practiced the piano, started a jigsaw, finished my US taxes, gone dark on Facebook, lunched with friends, played bridge for the second time (the French conventions are called La Majeure Cinquieme and are apparently totally different from the rest of the world…of course), organized the Shutterbugs and Women Who Wine activities, ordered a few “necessities” from Amazon (including a rolling kitchen cart with a bamboo top that makes my kitchen space so much more enjoyable)(and a new computer keyboard and mouse which will be AZERTY so expect a lot of “q’s”), and skyped with many of you and emailed with many others!

So, to say 2016 is starting off as a wonderful year would be an understatement, and I am so happy and grateful that daily life did not plunge below “almost comfortable”. Wishing everyone a prosperous and fulfilling year ahead and I can say Happy New Year because the Chinese calendar begins on February 8th for you monkeys out there (1932, 44, 56, 68, 80, 92, and 2004). Let’s all get a convoluted cookie and add “between the sheets” to the end of our fortunes…I’ll share if you will!

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

