Courtyards

All the old palacios in Palma centered around a courtyard. Historically, they served as main gateways for horses and carriages. Today, they are considered high rent properties because of the peace and quiet that exists behind the arched and old wooden doorways. However, some courtyards let themselves be seen, whether through latticed ironwork or just a quick peek when a resident emerges or retreats. There’s even a reservable walking tour just to see Palma’s courtyards. Here’s what I saw without going on tour…

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Courtyards

  1. C says:

    I like the one with the ornate stairway grille work. Are there courtyards in Bordeaux? Makes me want summer patio time…lemonade and sangria!

    Like

    • julijoyeux says:

      There are many courtyards and gardens in Bordeaux that you NEVER see…the whole private life culture is alive and well. The only way you know they exist is by looking at the satellite shot on Google maps. Haven’t made the most of my balcony yet-we’re having very chilly nights so the baking sun only warms things up when it’s staring at you.

      Like

  2. Marjorie Koval says:

    Nice, so much bigger than our little courtyards here! Plants are always part of a courtyard!

    Like

    • julijoyeux says:

      Outdoor space is fabulous! Even my narrow balcony is a haven on a beautiful day. LOTS of city people venture to the parks during the warm weather months too…it’s very satisfying to see all kinds of people and activities out in the sun. My favorite is a picnic with a real book! I imagine your patio gets a lot of use and I think I would have my morning tea on your front settee every day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

