Senior Citizen

Logically, AARP is not in France. And the age for normal retirement keeps drifting depending on which political party is in power. So, the definition of a senior citizen appears to be when you are eligible for discount cards at age 60. I have a slate of them now…one for the SNCF train system, one for Bordeaux culture and services, and one for the trams and buses. Additionally, at most ticket kiosks, the price drops for people age 60 and above.

The card I like best is for SNCF. Senior travelers receive a 40% discount on 1st class travel which usually isn’t much more than a 2nd class ticket. I’m going to be riding in style from now on. First stop-Paris in May to get my Russian visa and check out the Vermeer exhibition at the Louvre. I am loving my 60’s!

(u)   x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Senior Citizen

  1. C says:

    40% is huge. What fun! Do those discounts extend to visitors???? I think I got some discounts, but don’t remember what. I an guess what culture entails, but what are “services”? Enjoy!
    Sounds like you’ll be doing the Costco thing…going for what you need and coming home with twice as much, whichever could negate the savings!❤️

    Like

    • julijoyeux says:

      Wouldn’t it be great if they did. Services are things like grocery delivery, limited home health care, cleaning, etc. Sort of like Comfort Keepers! I received a coupon book too…for example, one of my favorite shops for fruit has a coupon I can use for 10% off a purchase. It all adds up. I can’t even tell you how excited I am about the trains and buses. This is gonna be fun!

      Like

  2. C says:

    Sorry for the typos.

    Like

  3. Marjorie Koval says:

    I am loving my 60’s, too (for the most part)! Way better than my 50s! Now I am about a year away of receiling my first social security check…hopefully!

    Like

    • C says:

      Don’t you have to be 62 to start to draw SS?
      Is it yours? I think if it’s someone else’s that you have to wait either until they’re eligible or until they draw, yes?

      Like

      • julijoyeux says:

        Yep, she’ll be eligible for her account next year. Listened to a webinar that said the break even age is about 78 for deciding whether or not to take SS at 62. All of a sudden, I’m getting more interested in this topic 🙂

        Like

    • julijoyeux says:

      I hope so for you too! Let’s have a party?! 🙂

      Like

      • C says:

        And if you can save even a little of what comes in, I’ve heard you’re way ahead at a 62 draw…assuming it’s not your only income!
        Of course, all I had was STRS…fortunately it is good. CA doesn’t allow double dipping even if you worked another job forever. That’s why Rollie list out.☹️

        Like

      • julijoyeux says:

        My situation may be a little more complicated because of french taxes and estate laws. But I’m grateful SS is there!

        Like

Leave a Reply

