My Wimbledon

From May 14…I had no plans or expectations for Mother’s Day. So it was easy to accept R and T’s invitation to join them at a historic tennis club in Caudéran named Villa Primrose. I’ve been there before on a neighborhood tour and for lunch…I imagine it’s smaller, yet similar to golf clubhouses, although you overlook the courts. In other words, very nice with a lot of tanned and buff “players” emphasizing my very visual lack of outdoor sports participation!

I had the most wonderful time watching tournament qualifying matches for internationally ranked men’s singles. The speed and force of play amazed me and yes, my head bobbed from side to side just like in cartoons. The rituals surrounding line calling and scoring and collecting loose tennis balls fascinated me. It was bright and hot in the stands and I wished one of the “shade umbrella children” would have been my personal attendant!

We chose to stay for a two bottle of wine brunch on the terrace…delicious salads, crêpes, pastries, and fried and hard boiled eggs, along with every kind of charcuterie I’ve ever seen. Good thing we rode bikes to the Villa…I think I wobbled a bit on the way home!

(u)   x(o)x

 

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Wimbledon

  1. C says:

    First time I’ve seen T!
    Looks like a great stadium and a great day. Now—where’s the horse racing track???
    Did you ride your bike???

    Like

Leave a Reply

