Whirlwind

Travel and exploring has been my “jam” since late January and I’m loving it. First, a few days in Marseille, which I’ve never visited before. The sunshine and relative warmth along the Mediterranean was a welcome winter pick-me-up! I loved MANY things…all very simple and heart-warming. The pealing of the church bells, the provençale flavors and my first ever bouillabaisse, the history of the “orient” (any peoples from the Ottomans east to the Asias), the VERY fresh daily fish market, my romanticized views of the island fortress prison Chateau d’If from The Count of Monte Cristo, and the famous Marseillaise soap. All was lovely and I’m tempted to always plan a winter season getaway to the sea.

Immediately following was a girlfriend trip to a tiny hamlet called Limendous. My friend K is renovating a getaway home there and we initiated the “party” visit by sightseeing in the nearby city of Pau, exploring a bit of the Jurançon wine appellation, enjoying the bucolic fields (lots of local cheese from cows, sheep, and goats), continually gazing toward the Pyrenéés mountains despite the fog and mist, home dining on amazing clam chowder and split pea soup (neither a “thing” in France) and lots of talking, sharing, wining, and quality time together.

Next a short overnight train trip to Paris to met Taryn for her vacay with me in Bordeaux. We have dined, shopped, painted, played cards, talked, slept, and pampered. A wonderful time together so far! Immediately after Taryn flies home, Dan flies here for his time with me in Bordeaux. There will be some electronics fixes and upsates to go along with gastronomic adventures, wine tasting, chocolate indulging, and perhaps a museum hop…we’ll see.

And what will March bring? Another attempt at finding a new place to live in Orléans and the beginning of packing non-essentials. Probably lots of award nominated movies and maybe more warmth and sunshine. And the afterglow of all that 2024 has already given me in happiness, family, friends, and future things to look forward to.

(u) x(o)x

About julijoyeux

I am looking to find myself in France. When I do, I'll share my pictures and stories with you!
This entry was posted in Dailies. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whirlwind

  1. Marjorie Koval says:

    It does all sound like a “whirlwind”!You are indeed living life to its fullest!
    We are in a “whirlwind” of snow!

    Like

    • julijoyeux says:

      If you’re housebound, I know you’re cozy and the views from the window are gorgeous. If you’re out and about, I know you’re happy and enjoying your friends and hobbies and studies. It’s a great life either way!

      Like

  2. Diana Green says:

    Excellent adventures, living your best life! Enjoy 🥰❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment